Commissioning Committee

L to R: (Carrie Biondi, Grace Kessler, Steve Harding, Commanding Officer Ronald L. Withrow, US Senator Mike Rounds, Debra Bodenstedt, Tom Muenster)

PCU SOUTH DAKOTA (SSN 790) Commissioning Committee

Authorized and directed by Governor Dennis Daugaard, the PCU SOUTH DAKOTA (SSN 790) Commissioning Committee has been organized to support the events surrounding the boat’s keel laying, christening and commissioning. The Commissioning Committee is charged with hosting events in South Dakota for the officers and crew of PCU SOUTH DAKOTA (SSN 790). The committee is also tasked with raising funds for the activities related to the boat; promoting and raising awareness of PCU SOUTH DAKOTA (SSN 790) across the state as well as developing long-lasting ties between the citizens of South Dakota and the crew of the boat.

Captain Debra Bodenstedt, USN Ret., Yankton

Vice Chair West River Coordination PAO/Protocol
CDR Ron Hill, USN Ret.

Mr. Michael Samp, Sioux Falls

Congressional Liaison
Brigadier General Jeff Marlett USA Ret., West River Coordinator for U.S. Sen. Rounds, Rapid City

Military/Retired Navy
CDR Wiley Cress, USN Ret., Retired Navy/Volunteer Coordinator

State of South Dakota
Ms. Grace Beck, Governor’s Office, Pierre
Colonel Steve Harding, USA Ret. Dept. Secretary of Military, Pierre

Mr. Scott Lawrence, Lawrence and Schiller, Sioux Falls
Ms. Carrie Biondi, Lawrence and Schiller, Sioux Falls
Ms. Paige Schwitters, Lawrence and Schiller, Sioux Falls

Mr. Rick Tupper, Sioux Falls
Mr. Jeff Alvey, Sioux Falls
Lieutenant Tom Muenster, USN Ret. Sioux Falls